Siena… model of urban design adapted to topography

The historic centre of Siena has been declared by UNESCO a World Heritage Site. Siena is famous for its cuisine, art, museums, medieval cityscape and the Palio, a horse race held twice a year.

Siena is remarkably well-preserved urban landscape. It dates back to at least 1218. Building materials, setbacks and height, and the shape of windows were specified.

When I had planned my trip to Italy, Sienna was one of the first cities that I thought to visit. Why? Well, Siena is a model of urban design adapted to topography, the particularly square, the church, Piazza del Campo, and its shape took me the attention.

Image

When I arrived, it was raining, the weather was really bad, however at the same time, and I saw everything in a beautiful perspective. I walked to a coffee shop in front of the Piazza del Campo square. And, I sat there and asked for my special cappuccino. It was so splendid, I was thinking in everything in my life, while I enjoyed the raining.

Then, raining was over I started to walk around the square, the color’s city is elegant and exquisite, in my opinion. This is a city to watch. What draws them is its scene, landmarks and landscape.

I recommended to you visit this city If you are studying urban design you will take pleasure in a lot of. And if you are not, well you will enjoy the coffee, walking, museum, church, the square, and every landmark there. It is a romantic city.

Leave a Reply

